Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by Whitworth1
Ultradot all the way. Much quicker to acquire than the cross hairs of a long relief handgun scope and better in low light IMHO. With practice, 100 + yard shots are no problem.

Since you recommended it, and others have said that your book was an influence in their choice on their pistol/revolver, I went ahead and ordered one while they were on sale.

How do I send you the bill? grin

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by RAS
All:

Gun: Ruger redhawk in 44 Mag. 7.5 inch barrel.

Game: Deer sized game. Maybe black bear sometime in the future.

I have a Leupold 2.5 EER scope now. But since I am new to handgun hunting, are there any better options?

What do you recommend and why?

Thank you,
RAS

Help me out here, are you talking about the 2.5-8x EER pistol scope, or are you talking about the 2.5x EER scout rifle scope?

I just retired a Ruger Redhawk Hunter, with a LEU 2x pistol scope. Bowen made me a nice set of hunting sights, and I'd go back and forth between those and the scope. Cannot begin to estimate the number of miles I carried that revolver.

Bowen sights alone, it was most joyful to hunt with as a 44 revolver. Great gun for me in the mountains for fairly quick shots inside about 50 yards. I'd be pushing it much further and would need ideal conditions and presentation. Maybe no more than about 75 yards due to sight thickness.