Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
M
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
M
There are so many different situational considerations. Threat levels, climate, physical dis/abilitites, etc, etc.

Just having a gun and some basic skills in using it, is a great place to be, compared to not having a gun.

I've been carrying a Glock 17 now for over 20 years. Seems a pretty good balance of everything, but a Glock 19-size would be easy to like too. But that's for me, I don't try to make 'my choice' into everybody elses choice too.

I tried a 2.25" SP101 for a while, way back in the 90's. I always felt I should carry extra ammo. After a short while I went right back to the Glock 17.

It's easy to choose the full size Glock day to day, because it's my smallest pistol. Well, I have a 4" Security Six, I don't really consider it for carry, but it would be a fine outdoors sidearm.

GB1

R
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
R
i was messing with a 2.75inch ruger 41mag redhawk yesterday.
firing 180grain, and 228grain keith style bullets.
forgot the box i have on my desk right now, 265 grain hollow points. I don't have those loaded to the top of the charts, but they are over 1000fps. ought to be an interesting combination. Might have only six rounds, but probably would stop just about anything.

THE BIRTH PLACE OF GERONIMO
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
I carry a Glock 43 with two extra mags for EDC. Total pacakage - 19 rounds.

For ANY circumstance where the car and my AR is not in "running distance," I carry a Glock 19 with two extra mags.

If 50 rounds (one in the pipe, a 15 round mag in the chamber, two 17 round Glock 17 mags in reserve) don't gain me breathing room (and mama is armed), then God and Darwin are teaming up on me.

“Live free or die. Death is not the worst of evils.” - General
John Stark.
Y
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Y
Originally Posted by Bluedreaux
How exactly do you decide when you're going to be in a dangerous situation?

Exactly.