Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
F
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
F
I've just acquired a new to me rifle and I'm having some trouble finding information on it. It's a neat little 20 gauge over .22 mag with double triggers. You pull the rear trigger to cock the rifle and the front trigger to fire it. My perceived problem is the adjustable front trigger. It's so light, even after backing the screw all the way out, that just a light touch releases the hammer. When the screw is tightened, and I use that term lightly, the hammer will actually just barely catch as the rear trigger is pulled rearward and then release as the I let off said rear trigger. I know this is a high end combination gun, but I have no experience with these, and I'm wondering if this is normal. The gun looks like it was barely used if at all. Has anyone had any hands on time with a Heym adjustable trigger? Thanks in advance for your replies.

GB1

D
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D
It sounds like a double set trigger. Such a trigger operates in two modes. The front lever is the actual trigger, the rear lever is used to "set" the trigger. Neither actually cocks the gun.

The way it works is this. The first mode is using the trigger set. You do this by pulling the rear lever until it clicks, or "cocks" the trigger mechanism. When you do this the front lever, the actual trigger, will typically be very light, going off more or less at a touch. This mode is intended for a deliberate shot when you have time, though when you get used to it you may find yourself using it more often (I've often realised, even after taking a quick running shot, that I set the trigger out of force of habit).

The other mode however, is unset. This is where you just pull the front lever, without setting the mechanism with the rear. Typically the trigger pull in this mode will be a lot heavier, and it is intended for those quick shots where you don't have time to set the trigger.