Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
E
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
E
The course of my project changed a bit but I have a 6.5CM Ruger M77 Predator on the way along with a standard fill McMillan Game Scout to drop it in to. I know there is the Weigand base that mounts to the Ruger rail as well as the option of drill and tapping for one of many bases on the market. Any opinions on the better option or other choices that I'm missing? The reason for the question is probably a bit illogical but I have a strong preference for rings that mount this way and I already have the 30mm rings I will need as well.

The Weigand working loose is my fear but I have no first hand experience, that said it is simpler than getting it drilled.

Gun will be used for informal LR steel, deer, and maybe the occasional PRS match that I have no intention of performing well in. If it matters the scope will be a 4.5-27 Athlon Midas BTR.

Thanks,
Nick

GB1

D
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
D
Those picatinny rails for rugers are worthless...they sit up way too high. It will be compounded by the low comb of the Game scout. Get some warne rings...

Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
boolchit..... a little high maybe, but not 'way too high'. EGW 20 moa D&T base works great.....

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

D
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
D
Look at the gap under your scope bell. Not even close to optimum, and that isn't Game Scout.

M
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
M
The Wigatinni is a POS. Certainly for 30MM you'll not get lower than Ruger Rings. If you are going to tap your receiver for a rail, buy extra taps, drills and a punch for chipping broken taps out. It was like turn 1/100 inch back out lube turn backout lube turn break chit sob chit.... Enjoy that rifle.

"I can't be canceled, because, I don't give a fuuck!"
--- Kid Rock 2022

Holocaust Deniers, the ultimate perverted dipchits: Bristoe, TheRealHawkeye, stophel, Ghostinthemachine, anyone else?
IC B2

R