Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
M
So I've been wearing bifocals for a few years now and they don't always play well with handgun iron sights.

Question, do the reflex style red dot sights (Burris Fastfire, Vortex Venom, etc) work well with aging eyes? Does the dot focus well?

I'm thinking about having one of my Glock slides milled for such a sight, but don't want to go down that road if it is a waste of time/money.

Thanks, Shane

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Absent an astigmatism that causes other dots to be wonky I think it'll be fine. They appear the same as an Aimpoint to me.

I think this is where dots on pistols really shine. They give you an easy to see aiming point and one plane to focus on.

Originally Posted by SBTCO
your flippant remarks which you so adeptly sling
J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J
When I found myself needing bifocals, my ability to focus on sights at arms length had already been suffering to the point I'd pretty much given up on shooting handguns. Now that I wear trifocals, that middle lense helps considerably to focus on the sights, and reading glasses with a similar correction work even better. Regardless, I have to have that intermediate correction to shoot any handgun with open sights.

To answer your question about red dot sights, the Fastfire I put on a Buckmark is awesome for my aging eyes. I have no problem focusing the dot and target with my primary lense (distance correction) and don't have to rely in the other lenses for a closer in focus. I only have that type of sight on the one pistol, but it is much easier for me to shoot than any iron sight. I don't think you'd be disappointed...

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
to carry while hunting or hiking is one thing, I could not see the red dot on for instance the G43 I carry. I would look at other sights for a carry weapon. However I have wanted to do one of the G40's set up that way as a trail gun.

T