W
Should I fear buying a camera on ebay?

Are there knock offs "out there"?

These premises insured by a Sheltie in Training ,--- and Cooey.o
"May the Good Lord take a likin' to you"
GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I've bought used stuff from KEH, and it was as advertised. e-Bay can be a bit of a crapshoot.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I have not heard of any knock-off cameras like there are Leupold scopes.
I would be mote tempted to buy used from KEH or B&H where there is a return policy rather than ebay. Maybe locally off craigslist where you could see/test before buying? You might try Fred Miranda forums also for used gear

O
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
O
I've been buying used gear from KEH and B&H for almost 20 years now and have never had a problem. I bought a lens from B&H last week listed in "9" condition and it appeared to be brand new, for about $100 less than the new price of the lens. KEH "bgn" grade equipment tends to be very clean as well; and, as redrabbit pointed out, both places have great return policies.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Never encountered any knock offs, but did get some warnings when I was first looking for a good camera for Cookie. With a little surfing, one will find some almost too good to be true prices on cameras. In those instances resellers are taking apart the typical package deals and selling the body and maybe a lens at what seems to be a fair discount. Then the issues of: oh you want a charger, some lens cleaner, download cables, battery, memory card, and user manual with that? Then they nickel and dime one up to an unreasonable profit. Unless one simply wants a body, it's best to stay away from those folks and get the completely loaded box from reputable dealers.

1Minute
IC B2

P
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
P
Originally Posted by wabigoon
Should I fear buying a camera on eBay?