Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
shaman Online Content OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
I have two sons that are regularly shooting clays on the weekend. Between the two of them and myself, I'm starting to see where a loading shotshells might be an idea. I also have a friend interested in giving me his Lee Load-All in 12 GA. Here's what I'm thinking:

1) A 12 GA target load filled with clean reclaimed shot from Rotometals or some other source.
2) The same load filled with #6 shot for squirrels

3) After I get good at it, I want to try a 16 GA load for my grandfather's Model 12.

Is this going to be a reasonable project? I've been reloading for over 15 years, but this would be my first attempt at shotshells.

Additionally: If you think this is feasible, I'm looking for suggestions for a good starting load. I went on Hodgdon's data center the other day just to test the idea and got my head spinning in a hurry. Hodgdon has loads for GU 1225 wads, which I could not find sold anywhere. I find the right wad and the hull is out of stock.

Genesis 9:2-4 Ministries Lighthearted Confessions of a Cervid Serial Killer
GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Back when I was reloading. I used either 700X or Clays for powder. Primers were Winchester 209. Wads were "
Claybuster". I would get once fired hulls from the trap club. I used Winchester AA. Lots of data. AA hulls have change from when I reloaded--most reloaders today use Remington "Gun Club" or STS. Federal gold Metal is another popular one.

What that said I'm of the opinion now that shooting the cheap $5/box target or game loads in 12 guage is the way to go. For hunting loads--I'd buy the factory 1 1/4 oz loads.

For the 16 guage-----reloading could be a money saver. I'd think getting hulls would be a problem.

shaman Online Content OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter