Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
ringer Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Looking at a 330 Bloodline at 27" (nock valley to carbon) with 3 blazers and 75 grain HP brass insert and 75 grain ABC super sonic broadhead. My DL is 29" and DW will be around 69-71lbs.

Intending on using this set up for Coues and Brocket deer.

Thoughts on the 75/75 set up or would switching it out and going 50 brass insert with 100 broadhead and achieving the same weight forward be more beneficial?

My thoughts are that the 75/75 set up is with a smaller surface area broadhead and therefore would probably increase some accuracy at longer ranges and maybe even perform a little better with stronger crosswinds.

GB1

A
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
A
It's really going to depend on how well you have the bow tuned. I'm not an expert on tuning, just a tinker. Broadhead flight tends to magnify any issues with an out-of-tune problem. The ABC Super Sonics only come in 85 grain, you're shooting the regular Sonic head at 75 grain. The minimal difference in surface area between the two shouldn't make a huge difference if your bow is tuned.

Your arrow spine reads OK for the draw and weight, but the 27 inch arrow sounds like you are bringing the broadhead back onto the riser shelf of the bow? Fall-away rest mounted behind the riser, like a QAD?

What range are you setting as your max range?

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Having tried to do what you are dong with both a crossbow and a vertical, I have to ask why not just do the easy thing and shoot an expandable?