Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
V
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
V
I recently joined a hunting lease that does not allow screw-in tree steps so I need some advice from users on some good secure and lightweight strap-on tree steps, I have zero experience with these so any practical advice will be appreciated.......Ladder stand's are out of the question as the terrain of this lease is extremely steep and rugged, I will need to pack these steps for a mile or more to get into some of My stand sites......Thanks Hb

GB1

N
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
N
I use Lone Wolf climbing sticks.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Va-
Are you inquiring about an actual single step with a step/rope attached or lightweight climbing sticks with multiple steps on each section?

If the latter, will you be hauling/setting up for each hunt or purchasing multiple sets to leave in place?

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

WWP53D
V
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
V
Skane, those are very good questions...I am interested in the multiple step strap-on type steps not the singles....I will purchase enough step's to hang 2 stands (thats all we are allowed per hunter on the lease) at 25ft....I will be moving them through the season as I try and pinpoint My target bucks........Hb

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Gotchya.

You have quite a few options then. And some of it depends of tree shape too.
My thoughts below will skew more safety than convenience. I took a fall from a tree some 20 years ago that should have seriously crippled me (or worse) so "lightweight" is further down the totem pole for me. whistle

Lone Wolf, Muddy and API (probably others) make seemingly the same thing for multiple steps that don't connect to one another. They're nice because they'll work with irregular shaped trees.