Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
C
colodog Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
C
Today we shot the monthly Varmint for Score match at my local club and I was tickled to win with a score of, 250-16x.

It's an informal match and not sanctioned so we compete for bragging rights and try to back up our scores by shooting better next month, proving it wasn't a fluke.

We're not a big group, usually 10-12 shooters but there's no sympathy, if you drop a point you're "Toast"

I shot a 6mmBR for several seasons as most of the shooters do but I've been shooting a 30BR for a couple years now and as much as I love a good 6mmBR, there's no going back for this match.

Last month was the first match of the season and I shot the match but dropped a couple points below my average mad that stung but I found the problem.

I switched front rests in the off season and the front bag needed a bit more sand than I had realized. A simple fix but I've been too busy to practice and just showed up and shot the match with a slightly loose bag on the front rest...

Next month I gotta prove my win wasn't a fluke.
Anybody else shooting local Club Matches?

[Linked Image]
Prettiest of the day, after the clean barrel settled down...

Last edited by colodog; 05/29/17. Reason: add pic

"Camping places fix themselves in your mind as if you had spent long periods of your life in them.
You will remember a curve of your wagon track in the grass of the plain like the features of a friend."
Isak Dinesen

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Good shooting colodog....... cool smile

C
colodog Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
C
Thank you Sir.

The other 4 cards weren't quite as nice but I was able to hold on!

I don't get to hunt as much as I'd like and some day I won't hunt at all but I like to shoot and the local matches help me keep some focus on fundamentals.

Three more months at 100yds and then two at 200yds.