24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
As most of you know I'm relatively new to this game ( five years in the making) but I also know there are many of you old veterans with years of experience under your belt. So how about some history of "how you got started"..your first rifle/rifles and any other info you'd care to share to jump start the old forum.

You better be afraid of a ghost!!

"Woody you were baptized in prop wash"..crossfireoops

Woody
BP-B2

P
Campfire Tracker
Online Happy
Campfire Tracker
P
Always loved the looks of the Sharps and then watched that damn movie Quigly Down Under and the rest is history. Started with an Italian repro but quickly moved on to Shilohs and have not looked back after 5 of them. I have yet to order direct from Shiloh and have bought all but one used. My first was ordered through Bill Goodman just the way I wanted it and got it within a few months. If you want a new one and are impatient like me his services are well worth a couple hundred bucks.

Guns don't kill people, it's mostly the bullets
S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S
I went big for my 1st rifle a 45-120 sharps! was an early rifle from Wolf, and I had to clean it every shot, to chamber another round! it didnt last long. Iv owned Shilos, C. Sharps, Ballard & a Red Willow! Cals 120, 45-70, 40-70, 44-77, Hunted with all but the 120 took whitetails and 2 Bears. Never shot a match, but went to a sight in day before the match, I didnt have a rifle with me and had to work the day of the shoot, a fellow let me fire his 45-90, I knocked 3 Rams down and hit another one, but it didnt fall and missed the last one! Not much in the way of Shoots here in Michigan back then! NO rifles now but hope to get back into them one day!

Last edited by saddlering; 06/12/17.

Deer Camp! about as good as it gets!
U
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
U