-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
If GW says the steel on a Randall is good, than its damn sure good enough for me!

"Allways speak the truth and you will never have to remember what you said before..." Sam Houston
Texans, "We say Grace, We Say Mam, If You Don't Like it, We Don't Give a Damn!"

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~
GB1

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Travis
"Just the stainless or Randall's in general?"

Mostly the 440B, cause I am pretty sure they do a good job on the high carbon blades, but then I have no user experience
with Randall blades. Just wondered if the negative comments on 440B were substantiated with actual experience.

FWIW I have two small kitchen knives I made from some 440B at .040" thick and heat treated before I acquired the strip of steel.
It was a drop from a high volume production process of surgical blades, so figured must me ok. I have had not seen edge
degradation to me much different than from 440C personally.

Yeah, GW gives them a work out.

"The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
Albert Einstein

At Khe Sanh a sign read "For those who fight for it, life has a flavor the protected never knew".
Campfire Sage
Campfire Sage
Yeah I can't help with the stainless. My carbon holds and takes an edge great. But I've also never been one of those guys that owned a knife which could "clean ten deer and still shave hair."

The most I ever do with a knife in the field is break them down shotgun style to fit in a pack and I consider my Randall to be one of the best in that regard. I've never had it dull in the middle of that process.

Travis

Originally Posted by Geno67
Trump being classless,tasteless and clueless as usual.
Originally Posted by Judman
Sorry, trump is a no tax payin pile of shiit.
Originally Posted by KSMITH
My young wife decided to play the field and had moved several dudes into my house