Print Thread
Hop To
N
NTG Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
N
I recently bought a 2nd 22-250 (a RARP) so that I'd have enough guns for hunting bunnies and yotes with my growin-too-fast boys. I've been reloading for ~10 years, but until recently I've always used my Dad-in-law's or my buddy's RCBS Charge-master. With a new job that takes a lot more of my time, I thought I'd get a scale and the few things I lacked to load in my basement vs. taking time to travel to their houses.

Fast forward to yesterday. I got some chores done and wanted to do some load work on the new 22-250. Last load I wanted to try was the combo of I4895 and Speer 55 SP. Someone had told me I4895 had done real well in theirs, I had some, and never tried in in my other 22-250. I didn't have time to run the whole gamut from bottom to max load (and really wanted to focus on some temp resistant powders like varget anyway) so I only ran a few in the middle of the range. The third round of the 35.5gr load sounded a bit different, and I thought well it's hot out (~95F) and the barrel is quite warm, and then I tried to open the bolt...and it took all the muscle I have (not a lot, really blush) to get it open. I had blown the primer!