Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
I'm fairly new to steelhead fishing and am trying to learn their habits. I've been pulling a mag lip 3.0 or hot shot type plug behind my house most evenings and some mornings, using a side planer. Running them right down the seams and on either side of the seams of the fast and slower current with 15-18' between the planer and the plug. Just tonight I got my first two solid hits, but no good hookup. Same exact spot about 15' off the bank the first time using a silver with red bill mag lip, the second using a copper color hot shot. After getting the first hit I walked the plug down and back up, in then out, and tried to cover all the water within 60' or so. Not until I came back an hour later was I able to get strike #2.

So what do they do after a brief hookup like this, do they boogie out of a hole or just hit the bottom and lay tight? Should I have switched plugs immediately after the first strike?

LOL
GB1

T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
wow, 60'

fwiw
Am fishing much shallower water here in michigan. In the fall we scrub holes/runs with plugs or spawn as they come up. When they are interested or they want to be there perhaps, they seem to hang right in there. If you hook them and lose them they move down. It may have been the same fish, it may have been another. They do school...

Defend the Constitution
T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
that's down, as in downstream....here

15' would be a deep hole on the water I know...:)

Defend the Constitution
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
I should clarify depth wasn't 60'. I ran all over the river within 60' wondering where the fish may have went. I've been told to fish 7-12' deep here for them.

LOL
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger