Print Thread
Hop To
C
CBB15 Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
C
All I am new to the "tactical" game but working into shooting some matches and am about to work up loads for a GAP built rifle.

My load dilemma is this. On my Crusader with 168gn SMKs I get an ogive measurement of 2.145 with an OAL of 2.725. using the proper Hornady tools. Comparing that to SAAMI 2.8 OAL I have a .075 jam at SAAMI length and with factory Federal Gold Medal 168s.

Is this common in these type of rifles to chamber for that much jam? I am a hunting loader and this is my first time chasing uber precision at ranges beyond 600. I have never loaded jam as I never saw an improvement. Usually the contrary.

The factory stuff shoots as expected.

I planned to start with Varget at 2.8 and bring it in.

HR IC

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
I would rethink the 168s if you are going out farther than 600. I started with them in factory GMM then switched to the 175s. Subsonic distance was 190 yards farther out of my 20" Tikka, obviously less drop also. I am in G'town, you shoot at MSSA?

Welcome to TN - patron state of shootin’ stuff
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Let me get this straight:

You seat the bullet to an OAL of 2.725"
The measurement at that OAL to the ogive is 2.145.
How did you arrive at the 2.725" OAL? How far from the lands is the ogive (2.145")?

Is what you are trying to say is that when the bullet touched the lands the OAL is 2.725" (ogive OAL 2.145")?

If this is true then what the measurements are trying to tell you is that you cannot load this bullet to SAAMI max length of 2.8" in your particular rifle with that particular throat.

The way to use the Hornady tool is to take the ogive measurement 2.145" (touching) and say, for example, subtract 0.01" = ogive OAL length of 2.135" and an OAL of 2.715" to yield a distance of 0.01" off the lands.

Ed

A person who asks a question is a fool for 5 minutes the person who never asks is a fool forever.