Print Thread
Hop To
F
fjlee Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
F

A friend of a friend.......a young man.........works part time at a rifle range.

A series of swaps, and I wound up with maybe 200 Winchester 30-06 brass empty cases........that he had picked up from shooting bench areas.

A quick glance at primers told me that a large percentage of these cases were once fired factory loaded cases. Perfect!!!

However, a bit later a "family member", thinking they were doing me a favor, punched out all of the primers!

My question is this: Is there any way that I can examine each de-primed 30-06 case and discern whether or not it is truly "once-fired"....? I want to use the once-fired WW cases, and will scrap the rest.

I am a retired machinist, so have measuring tools......micrometers, calipers, etc.

"Thanks, folks"....

FjLee

Last edited by fjlee; 09/12/17.
HR IC

K
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
K
What caliber? If it was a public range, and the person didn't bother picking them up, chances are very good it was factory ammo, and the person does not reload.

Even if it was twice fired, there would be lots of life left in it. Look for obvious signs of brass weakening, like a thin ring about the case head. Beyond that, not much that measuring will show.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Assuming they're all the same caliber....

Check for defects and sort by weight.

I rarely pick up brass unless it's clearly factory. Too many hotrodders out there. I do like to get a few to use for dummy rounds so I needn't waste one from one of my lots, and also for setting up dies and trimmers, and to drill out to make hillbilly cleaning rod guides.

What fresh Hell is this?
D
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D
As long as you're not getting case thinning just ahead of the web, odds are you can just anneal and trim and treat it all like once fired.

Be not weary in well doing.
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by Pappy348