Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
T
Tarkio Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
T
Son has started hunter's safety course. I am attending with him.

Some of the stuff covered is cringeworthy.

Anyone else been through one of these lately?

Last edited by Tarkio; 09/19/17.

Montana MOFO
GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by Tarkio
S

Some of the stuff covered is cringeworthy.

?

I was an instructor many years ago but havent been to one lately. What specifically is cringeworthy?

[Linked Image]
T
Tarkio Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
T
They are telling these kids that every time they meet someone in the field that is not a hunter, the have to face the person, open their chamber, clear the chamber (if there's anything in there), make safe and do all this so the person they've met can see and "FEELS" safe. This is geared towards their field course this Saturday at this time but they've mentioned you need to do it in the field also.

Montana MOFO
T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
I took my 10 year old grandson to the the class back in August and he got 100% on the 50 question quiz. The main instructor was ex military and I found a few incorrect statements but overall the class would good. The two secondary instructors were really good.

Last edited by tpcollins; 09/19/17.
P
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
P
This is why a lot of the old time instructors gave it up. Kids are taught to pass the test not what they need to be safe. Many of the new instructors lack basic firearms knowledge. I had a newby who was doing firearms orientation hand me a remington 1100 and say you do this one I don't know anything about semi's. Lot of emphasis on having a nice day afield even if you don't take any game. Now that is fine I always enjoyed all my time outdoors but too many days like that will soon see the prospective hunter staying home playing video games.