Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Ziggy Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
Originally Posted by Model70Guy
The day my .270 Wins crank out 3500 fps with 130s is the day I'll believe that there isn't any difference.

Can't argue with that

GB1

Ziggy Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
Originally Posted by Fischer
Ziggy, my 270 Wby pushes a 150 NPT at 3265. It pushes a 130 at 3550. That's serious and opens a pretty wide gap between the Win and the Bee. I have both. As far as the WSM - nice round but it will never touch the 'Bee...

Do you think I can get that kind of speed out of a 24" barrel? I have no intentions to change out the barrel it's gonna stay.

S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S
Well guys, I have been building guns now for almost 50 years, and I have owned various chronographs for about 35 years. I have used barrels of 22- 28 inches on both 270 Winchesters and on 270 Weatherby mags If we compare barrel length to length and pressure to pressure the truth is that the Weatherby shell only gives about 100 to 120 FPS more, and in MOST cases only beats the Winchester shell by about 80-90 fps. The idea that it's 400 FPS faster is totally false. Now there are several factory 270 Winchester loads on the market that are down loaded to sedate velocities and all the Weatherby factory ammo I have tested was loaded at top velocities, so in those cases the Weatherby will go a lot faster, but that is an invalid test of cartridges. That's just a report on products. That's like putting regular gas in one Top-Fule Dragster and the best grade of Av-Gas with Nitrous Oxide injection in another, and saying it proves the car with the good gas is a faster/better car.