Print Thread
Hop To
S
slm9s Online Content OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Online Content
Campfire Tracker
S
I have a bravo co 16" recce upper that I never use. It is a few years old and has the quad-rail type handguard which I wish to replace with a smoother m-lock (?) type.

Anyone have any favorites to recommend? I like the look of the longer than factory look - like a 13" handguard with the 16" barrel.

Is this an item where a generic $70 item works as well as a $180 version, or 'you get what you pay for' situation?

Any special tools needed to switch them? I've never done it before.

Thanks in advance.

GB1

S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S
I like 15”hand guards and lightweight. The diameter is something to pay attention to. The thinner ones are pretty comfortable. Lots of options, I look for sales.

NRA Life Member
T
TWR Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T
I have 13" rails on my 16" barrels. I have Troy Alpha's and a BCM keymod, the original magnesium alloy rail. It's very light but not as strong as the alpha version BCM is offering now in MLok. I still love it but it ain't cheap. Midwest Industries offers some good light weight rails that are comparable. I'd avoid cheap Chinese airsoft junk but you don't have to spend a fortune to get a good rail. Just ma make sure they have an anti rotation feature that works and make sure your accessories aren't gonna fall off. Other than that, if you like it buy it.

You will need a few tools, check out some videos on Brownells or YouTube.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
No, they're definitely not all made the same. Whether or not it matters is a different issue, but they're not all the same.

I prefer mine a little thicker than the BCM and Midwest rails, but that's just personal preference.

The ALG rails are my favorite.

Originally Posted by SBTCO
your flippant remarks which you so adeptly sling
N
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
N
I have gone the ALG route lately as well.

They fit my mitts!