Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker

I have been reloading for nearly forty years. I have a mixture of reloading dies which include RCBS, Redding, and Lyman and have gotten usable service from all brands. I have recently (last three or four years) been favoring RCBS mostly due to the sizing dies having a vent hole which seems to help prevent shoulder dents. I know that too much lube, or different brands of lube can add to neck and shoulder dents, but as I stated it seems that the problem is lessened when using RCBS dies. Am I wrong thinking this? And the main question; if knowing what you now know, what brand of Reloading Die would you chose if you had to start over and WHY? Not talking specialty dies. Just standard handgun and rifle dies. I look forward to knowing your preferences.

If we live long enough, we all have regrets. But the ones that nag at us the most are the ones in which we know we had a choice.

Doug
GB1

M
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
M
If I was restricted to one brand, two die sets for my rifle cartridges I'd get Forsters with the neck portion of the FL size die honed to suit the brass I use.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Used to be that all I bought were RCBS dies. Over the years that's changed. Now, when looking for dies, I tend to lean toward Redding or Forester. I like the fact that I can add a micrometer to the seating die, whereas that's not always the case with RCBS. Hornady offers a micrometer for the seating die, but I'm not impressed with their quality

I never thought I'd grow up to be a grumpy old man, but I did, and I'm killin' it.
B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
I started with RCBS, but slowly have changed to Redding. I recently bought a Redding bushing neck and body sizing die and it is really a step up IMO. I also like the Lee Collet Neck Sizing dies. The rest of Lee dies not so much.