Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
I've been looking at outer jackets from the big names: Sitka (Jetstream), Kuiu (Guide), First Lite (North Branch), and few non hunting related from Mountain Research, ArcTerex, Mountain Hardware to name a few. I've been wearing a Kuiu Guide for the past 4-5 years. My only issue with the jacket is the sizing through the chest and arms - with only base layers it fits well. Add a substantial puffy and things get tight in a hurry - too tight for my likes.

I'm intrigued by a couple of the non-hunting softshells, namely the Outdoor Research Ferrosi and Ascendant. The only purpose for this outer layer is to shed wind, light rain, and be quiet.

What thoughts or jackets are you all wearing for mid-late October elk hunts?

Thanks.

Adversity doesn't build character, it reveals it.
GB1

Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
Interestingly, I remembered a softshell I bought for hiking. It was a bit big for that purpose - but I loaded up my puffy (FL Uncompaghre) and 2 baselayers - fits perfectly. I don't know how well it breathes but it does shed wind and light rain.

https://www.freecountry.com/products/mens-cross-trail-softshell-jacket

My is perfect deer color (tan) which is a drawback to me - I don't want shot. Maybe a little dye job will work......

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I've been real happy with a Gore-Tex, camo, un-insulated, Cabela's Whitetail series jacket and matching pant. It has a fleece like very quiet surface and I got it big enough to go over any mid layer puffy and my wool pants.

My other auto is a .45

The bitterness of poor quality is remembered long after the sweetness of low price has faded from memory
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular