-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
I have a '12 Razor 800. The drive belt has about 1500 miles on it. I don't hot rod it. What's the normal life expectancy of a belt?
What do you look for in a belt? I see them on Amazon from $55 to about $150. All the fancy names mean nothing to me.

“In a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.
GB1

O
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
O
Razor has a few websites with good info on them.

The degree of my privacy is no business of yours.

What we've learned from history is that we haven't learned from it.
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Rock Chuck, I'm no expert but my buddies with Rangers claim you can get +5k miles.

I made it a whopping 800 miles before I smoked the belt on my Ranger. Got stuck in a bad spot and didn't put it low range and burned a spot in it. Still works but has a vibration. It is now my back up belt and I replaced it with a bad ass carbon fiber version from Gates.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MY9G90V/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Last edited by SamOlson; 02/05/18.
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
I bought mine with 1600 miles on it. The seller had just put a new belt on it. He gave me the old one and it doesn't look bad at all. I've put about 1500 on it since then and haven't opened the belt housing. I was just wondering how long they typically last. I use low range a lot, BTW.

― George Orwell

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Wild guess but I would think you'd be good to go for thousands of miles. Just keep the other as a spare.

On my Ranger it was a pain in the ass to muscle the new belt on....

IC B2

T
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
T

Just use common sense....had a buddy try to pull out a 1/2 ton Ford stuck in sand..(dumb azz)

with his Can Am SxS...not a good idea...he replaced belt shortly after.....