-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I am not an engineer not even real dam smart.
A pipe is stiffer than a similar OD solid.
The pipe will resist deflection better, until it
fails, which willeads be catastrophic. The solid willike
bend much easier, but will take more effort to have a total
failure.

For use as a stock stiffener, a good tube will be stiffer, lighter,
and will not be exposed to the forces that would ruin it.

Parents who say they have good kids..Usually don't!
GB1

G
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
G
Had a cool old FN Mauser custom 300 Win Mag back in the day with a really nice stick of walnut, it was bedded and floated and began to warp to the side a bit, took it to my 'smith, he milled out a channel in the forend, placed a 6" solid aluminum piece of square bar stock in the channel with epoxy compound, immediately placed the rifle in a vice, used some other attachment to push the forend straight with the barrel, let sit for a couple of days, it was still perfectly straight when I sold it.

Trump Won!
pal Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by Dillonbuck
I am not an engineer not even real dam smart.
A pipe is stiffer than a similar OD solid.
The pipe will resist deflection better...

At least you provided the disclaimer.

NO! The pipe is not stiffer than a solid bar of the same diameter.

"There's more to optics than meets the eye."--anon

"...most of us would be better off losing half a pound around the waist than half a pound on our rifle."--dhg

S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S
Reading this thread I believe many are confusing stiffer with stronger.
They are not the same.

A 1/4" glass rod is stiffer than a 1/4" steel rod, but the steel rod is stronger.

A solid bar is far stronger then a hollow tube of the same diameter, but the tube will come back straighter if it's bent unless it's bent far enough to kink.