Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
K
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
K
I’m relatively new to western hunting and am looking to increase my effective range. Thus far I have been limiting myself to 300 yard maximum shots. I have stalked closer on a couple occasions when I haven’t been sure of the range. It seems a rangefinder would be useful for confirming distance and extending my range when getting closer isn’t possible. I have never owned a rangefinder.....

Can aanyone recommend a good, basic rangefinder that could range deer at 500-600 yards? I don’t want to buy junk, but definitely don’t need some milspec unit that costs 2k. Are there any high quality, but older used units I should keep an eye open for? I’m hoping that because I don’t need to range 1000 yards that I can get a higher quality shorter range model. Recommendations? I do understand that the ratings are for large reflective targets.

Unfortunately I need to uprgade some other equipment as well (sleeping pad, bag, clothing) so I’m trying to keep price somewhat reasonable.
Cheers!

KT

BP-B2

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
We have a deal on a Zeiss PRF 8x26 for only $399.99. IMO, for that price, it is a great buy on a great unit.

Doug @ Camera Land

[email protected]
http://www.cameralandny.com
516-217-1000

Thanks for the support.

[Linked Image from monstermuleys.com]
B
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
B
the deal Doug has above is a good one, and I would keep an eye out for used leicas in the classifieds.........I picked up a like new 1600B for a song here last year.........

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Cry once, used Leica will get you there.

K
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
K
What used Leica models would suffice for my needs, ranging deer at 500 yards? What price range would I be looking at for said used Leica?

IC B2

K
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
K