Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Lacy1 Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I am new to trapping. I have set a dozen dirt hole sets. Barring rain, how often should I rebait the sets?

GoTigersGo
GB1

O
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
O
1 week

PRESIDENT TRUMP 2024/2028 !!!!!!!!!!

Posted by Bristoe
The people wringing their hands over Trump's rhetoric don't know what time it is in America.
R
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
R
Do you mean relure? If you are using bait, you would not need more bait unless the bait has been taken...in which case you should have a catch. On a remake I'm not rebaiting and usually not reluring.

As far as lure goes, I don't usually relure or freshen a set. If the set doesn't connect that I pull it and move on. bait/lure smells can linger for months. Overluring is a mistake and will adversely affect catch rates.

Lacy1 Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Thanks for the help. We have had abnormally amount of rain in last 2 months. Big heavy rains. I put all of my sets where they would not be flooded out. However most of the bait holes fill up with water. Should I just leave them alone and let them dry out or rebait?

GoTigersGo
R
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
R
If the hole is filled with water...first check and make sure the trap is still functional, probably needs to be rebedded. I have used a soda bottle with the top cut off to scoop out some of the water and speed up the draining. Maybe re-lure with a piece of sheeps wool with a smear of gland lure.

I have seen fresh foot prints working around old sets long after the trap is pulled. The scents linger.

IC B2

Lacy1 Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I appreciate the advice.

GoTigersGo
O
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
O
Guy on TrapperMan site had a set where he had seen a coyote cross his field , didn't lure/bait/or go near the set -watched set with binos . Caught a coyote 2 months later .