-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I am new to Colorado (resident eligible August 6) and will be waiting and hoping for a left over tag. I am assuming a plains deer will be my best bet and I live near Greeley. I looked at few State Wildlife Areas (new guy, no private land to hunt) and saw a few were open to deer hunting but stated "centerfire rifle prohibited". Any CO guy or gals out that can tell what is legal? I looked though state land regs but didn't see anything specific. Would I be limited to archery? I have no bow so that would suck for me. I have/shoot muzzle-loaders, shotguns (slugs) and handguns, would these be allowed? Any answers and published regs would be great, but if I have to call CPW, so be it. Any general deer (or elk) tips would be great too.Thanks in advance.

GB1

Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
I was in the same boat a few years ago when I first moved to Colorado. I started off hunting elk in northwest Colorado on public land, and have since added deer tags when I draw them. I haven't hunted the plains. Too much private land, I worry about being legal. But to be more specific to your question, most of the public land (BLM, National Forest, State Land) is legal for centerfires. I have not hunted the State Wildlife areas a lot, but the ones I have hunted allowed centerfires. Grab a 2018 hunting regs brochure from Walmart or Dick's Sporting Goods. Most of the information about seasons, what is legal for a particular unit etc is in there. Or just read up on https://cpw.state.co.us/. That should keep you legal. And I have called CPW before, they were very helpful and nice. Otherwise, pick an area you would like to hunt and go for it. 👍

S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S