Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
B
Campfire Member
Online Happy
Campfire Member
B
I just bought a bag of Winchester brass (300 Win Mag) and 15 out of the 50 have cracks in the neck. Also, the shoulders are not properly formed. Terrible QC.

GB1

M
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
M
Originally Posted by lone wolf
It seems like when they switched over to white red and black bags, something changed and brass went down hill from there.
I still have a bunch of blue bag that is good stuff.

Nope. I got a bunch of crap in the blue bags for several cartridges.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by mathman
Originally Posted by lone wolf
It seems like when they switched over to white red and black bags, something changed and brass went down hill from there.
I still have a bunch of blue bag that is good stuff.

Nope. I got a bunch of crap in the blue bags for several cartridges.

+1

I’ve been saying for several years now that WW brass QC has gone to crap in several chamberings.

R
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
R
Originally Posted by Jim in Idaho
Started buying Prvi (aka PPU) brass when nothing else was available and so far it's been fine, every lot I've bought for four different calibers has been as good or better than the better lots of older Remington or Winchester brass before the last shortage.

Ssshhhh...not so loud. smirk

"An archer sees how far he can be from a target and still hit it, a bowhunter sees how close he can get before he shoots." It is certainly easy to use that same line of thinking with firearms. -- Unknown
L
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
L
Prvi seems to be good brass, but I bought some 7mm Rem. Mag. Prvi that was 14% heavier than Winchester. That could be significant with maximum or near maximum powder charges. I don't know whether their other brass is extra heavy or not.

IC B2

G
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
G
On the other hand, I have a batch of Prvi 308 brass that's significantly lighter than Winchester. YMMV.