Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
S
I have been reloading shot shells for a about 25 years, but reloading rifle rounds is totally new to me. So I decided to look up and watch as much information as possible to get a good starting point for my .308 being built. I sat down 1 day and read through all 26 pages of the "good .308 load" thread to get an idea of different mixtures that folks are using. Of course reading through all the posts will make you head explode. So I decided to create a spreadsheet with all the information that is listed in the 26 pages of loads for easy access. We have done this before on another forum where members could go and input their loads for others to see. Then a "NEWBIE" could come along or possibly another member could come along and print out the spreadsheet for their reference. Here is an example of what I have so far..

[Linked Image]

Any additional information can be added or deleted. I just thought this could be a 1 stop shop for all data associated with .308 loads. The one thing that I'm not sure of is the limitations of this forum in doing so.

Just a thought, what do yall think about it? The one main item that I noticed that was omitted in the 26 pages was barrel length and twist rate. This too could be useful information that others could use.

GB1

A
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A
I simply find a starting point from five or more sources and work up. All the data in the world won't predict what one gun will "like."
Sometimes a recommended load works fine, but you still have to work up to it.

2 cents

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I think it's a good idea. But, as agazain stated, each rifle will be a beast of it's own. I do something similar with my personal firearms. I have an excell sheet of what's working in each one along with a description of the rifle and a round count (as accurate as I can get on some and on others, to the exact number of shots).