Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
pointer Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
I'm heading out on a pheasant hunt in a couple of weeks and a few of the areas I'm thinking of trying require non-toxic shot. What shells do you guys like for roosters with non-toxic shot? I have both a 12ga and a 20ga, but would prefer to shoot the 20ga as I shoot it better.

GB1

M
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
M
I'd suggest the Kent Bismuth loads. I've been shooting bismuth for around 20 years now, and it works very well not just on upland birds but waterfowl and turkeys.

The recent Kent loads apparently have shot sized more to British standards than American, so would pick a shot size larger than you're used to using in lead. This isn't because bismuth doesn't kill well--in my experience there's no difference in killing power between lead and bismuth. Bismuth pellets are slightly lighter, but there are also more in an ounce of shot, so patterns are denser.

But British #6 shot is about the same size as American #7, so if you like using #6 lead shot on pheasants, you'd probably want to Kent's #5 bismuth loads, or even #4.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger

I would second MD's recommend. And Kent has Bismouth for the 20.

D
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
D
If you decide to go steel, I'd run #2 in a 12 gauge.

Kent Faststeel 20 gauge, #3, 7/8 ounce is the best load for the smaller gun.

M
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
M