24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
We ran a really good thread last year on down puffy jackets, but now I have a new question. I can get the Columbia, Patagonia and North Face puffy's in town locally and they seem to be priced pretty much the same as the thinner 800 fill Montbell and Kuiu mail order puffy jackets. I'm way past the point of sleeping out under the stars needing the lightest jacket in my backpack, so I guess the question is does 6 ounces of 500 fill down in a North Face equal 4.2 ounces of 800 fill down in a Montbell or Kuiu? Being able to try the thing on in a local store seems like kind of an advantage. Thoughts and experiences would be appreciated.

My other auto is a .45

The bitterness of poor quality is remembered long after the sweetness of low price has faded from memory
BP-B2

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I am not a down expert, but ultimately isn't warmth directly correlated to loft, when comparing down head to head? So many other factors at play in terms of shell construction, but if comparing only the down ...

"What we obtain too cheap, we esteem too lightly: it is dearness only that gives every thing its value. Heaven knows how to put a proper price upon its goods; and it would be strange indeed if so celestial an article as freedom should not be highly rated." Thomas Paine
O
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
O
I would say, yes, quality counts in down fill. Ounce for ounce, feathers do not have anywhere near the efficiency of down.

You are making a leap of faith when accepting a labels claims regarding down quality as most labels contract out their work to offshore manufacturers. Retailers who build their own product, like Feathered Friends or Western Mountaineering, can and do control their raw materials to a degree not possible when your label does not have total control over it's manufacturing.

Last edited by OregonCoot; 11/09/18.
Campfire 'Bwana