Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#13322899 12/01/18
D
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
D
I am a total newbie to elk hunting and I have a question for the gurus. Does a bull add a point or two to his rack each year? Example: if a 3 1/2 yo is a 5x5 is he going to be a 6x6 or better when he is a 4 1/2 yo?

GB1

T
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
T
Not necessarily.
They can even lose a point from year to year.
Average mature elk will be a 6x6 but I’ve seen a monster 5x5 that would rival a 6 score wise.

D
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
D
Tom264, What is considered the mature age?

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
6.5 years is generally considered "mature", though with the right conditions the same bull can peak in rack size around 9.5 years +/-.

But it all "depends"...

“Perfection is Achieved Not When There Is Nothing More to Add, But When There Is Nothing Left to Take Away” Antoine de Saint-Exupery
J
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
J
This bull had an ear tag, I emailed the tag info to the State of Wyo per the instructions. He was 5.5 years old at harvest. I'm sure he would have only gotten bigger with another year.

[Linked Image]

IC B2

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Can't come up with the citation at the moment, but sheds were picked up annually from a bull on the Hanford area up through year 12 if I remember correctly. Maximum weight was year 9. Point counts have little relationship with age.

Don't have identifiable elk around but our local mule deer are sometimes 3 by's at 1 and 1/2. A buck that was 4by4 last year was a 3 by 4 this year.

This one was fairly easy to ID. Used to show up to raid droppings from Cookie's bird feeders.

First fall as a fawn at probably 6 months. No one ever owned up to the tagging.
[Linked Image]

Second fall at probably 18 months
[Linked Image]

Was a 4 by on the third fall but was poached and left between our archery and rifle seasons as a 4 by before we could get pics. Community was a bit upset over that.