24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Interesting thread. I always gut asap but I can see in some of your situations that may not be the best way to go. May also depend on what you do with your deer. I treat mine like beef (gut and skin asap, hang for 10 days-2 weeks in a meat locker before butchering) and make most of it into steaks. When I serve it most people would not guess it is venison.

I am continually astounded at how quickly people make up their minds on little evidence or none at all.
Jack O'Connor
BP-B2

E
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
E
Originally Posted by hanco
I hang and quarter my deer within 30 minutes of shooting, but I never gut mine unless I fuuck up and gut shoot it. I always gutted mine before a guy showed me it was a waste of time.

Same here. I have been doing it that way for the last forty-five years or so. Only gut them if I'm required to on a draw hunt here in Texas.

E
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
E
Originally Posted by 603Country
I quit gutting deer a few years ago. I hang em, skin em, take the backstrap and debone the hindquarters and some of the shoulder meat. Then we put the meat on ice for a few days, draining off the water occasionally. If it’s a gamey buck, we’ll salt the ice (a tip I got from a lady hog hunter).

The gamey taste isn’t spoilage. It’s in the blood.

Yep. We strip them quick, and get the meat in a cooler with ice and salt. Drain it once a day until the water is clear. Sometimes I have left them in coolers for ten days. Never had that gamey taste.

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
I'm in the no gut club also. You can get all the good stuff without getting elbow deep in guts. I can see the benefit of gutting if you have to drag them a good ways

R
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
R