Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
Hey guys I just bought a CZ 455 American in .22 WMR. I wanted something I could use from squirrels to eastern coyotes and foxes and any varmints in between. I’m new to it, I mounted a VX-Freedom 1.5-4x20 on it. Just wondering what you guys thoughts are on effective range for coyotes and foxes mostly. Input on other animals is welcome. I’ve only shot the Hornady V-Max 30 Gr and they shoot under an inch at 50 so I’m good with that. Thank you.

Kyle

American Rifles and Italian Shotguns
GB1

D
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D
For coyotes, I’d say 75 yards with good bullet placement. And I would use a heavier bullet, 40 grains if they shoot wellin gun.

Last edited by dale06; 01/08/19.

NRA Patron
M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
Yeah I haven’t got to try CCIs or Winchester yet. I’ll have to see what velocity and accuracy is like

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
Back before Omama, I used the 22 Mag with the 40 grain CCI HP and FMJ...

When zeroed at 100 yds, and I knew the distance....( did the testing over at the local range)
my Marlin 25MN was minute of prairie dog ( on a prairie dog silhouette target ) out to 225 yds.

The drop was up 2 inches on the turret every 25 yds...

so up 4 inches at 150, up 6 inches at 175 and up 8 inches at 200.... and up about 10.5 inches for 225.

I used it on much smaller sage rats with pretty high scoring results out to 200 yds, fairly regularly when I went out.... I am sure the 30 grain V Max would shoot a little flatter, and be a little more accurate... but then
being 10 grains lighter, would suffer more wind drift and also lose that flat trajectory a little out past 150 yds or so....

"Minus the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the Country" Marion Barry, Mayor of Wash DC

“Owning guns is not a right. If it were a right, it would be in the Constitution.” ~Alexandria Ocasio Cortez

M
Campfire Kahuna