Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
A semi-auto novice here. I have seen many decades of hunting with both bow and rifle, mostly in Alaska. Lately I've been toying with the idea of carrying a lighter pistol while on my annual home state bow hunt for moose in Alaska.

I've personally killed two brown bears and have participated in the killing of four others (all killed with large-caliber rifles) so I have a reasonably well founded understanding of what it takes to kill one. AND, I would never ever want to have to kill one with a pistol, no matter how large of a hole was in the end of the barrel. But killing one with one of my company's recurves ranks even lower on my "want-to" scale. That's why I always have a pistol (historically either a .475 Linebaugh or a 480 Ruger) on the belt of my backpack whenever I leave camp.

As a data point I've hunted Alaska every fall since the mid-70's from the Brooks Range down to the Southeast and practically out to Japan and just about every place in between and have never HAD to shoot a bear unless it was part of a bear hunt and was already wounded. I and my hunting partners are always very careful with staging meat from the animals we've taken well away from the carcass and in a place with (usually) good visibility when approaching to haul out another load of meat. So far so good, but over 40 years of doing it where lots of bears exist and thrive indicates that either we're doing something right or we're damned lucky.