S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
I would go with #6’s.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
https://www.federalpremium.com/prod...pheasants-forever-high-velocity/pf204-75

Here is a link for some 7 1/2s. Only 1 ounce but still plenty of shot for the ranges you will be shooting the 20 gauge with 7 1/2s.

The last time that bear ate a lawyer he had the runs for 33 days!
S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
Load you up some TSS. I have been hunting with my 2 3/4" 20 ga TSS loads for several years, I don't take long shots, but they will legit kill out past 60 yds if you mess up your range estimation.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by urbaneruralite
Sounds like older guns you might not want to use heavier-than-lead in. TSS will score a barrel if it gets loose from the wad.

Originally Posted by prairie dog shooter
I shoot Federal premium loads with 1 1/8 ounce of copper plated #7&1/2 shot in an 870 full choke.
Got a link for that load?

I bought a lifetime supply years ago. There is a photo of a box of them in the article I linked to here. Haven't looked but I'd bet they are still available.

http://traditionalmuzzleloader.com/index.php/muffin-mix-turkey-loads

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."
Edmund Burke 1795

"Give me liberty or give me death"
Patrick Henry 1775
S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
Sounds like older guns you might not want to use heavier-than-lead in. TSS will score a barrel if it gets loose from the wad.

I shoot Federal premium loads with 1 1/8 ounce of copper plated #7&1/2 shot in an 870 full choke.

Been loading TSS for 10 yrs, and it is perfectly safe to shoot in older guns. If loaded correctly there is zero chance that you will score your barrel.

Last edited by slickyboyboo; 02/19/19.
IC B2

U
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
U
Originally Posted by slickyboyboo