Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
I was looking at a vacuum pump to change the brake fluid in my truck. I ran across this video that shows how to do it with just a hose and a pop bottle. Is this actually possible? When you let up on the brake, what keeps it from sucking dirty fluid back through the hose instead of through the brake line? I watched a similar video where he set the bottle on top of the axle. That would make it even easier to suck dirty fluid back in. I'm no mechanic but I've always been taught that you need 2 people if you don't use a vacuum pump.

“In a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.
GB1

Campfire Savant
Campfire Savant
I’ve bleed beaks like that a lot. I didn’t see any sucked back in that I recall.

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
I use one of those things that pressurizes the reservoir at the master cylinder.

Originally Posted by 16penny
If you put Taco Bell sauce in your ramen noodles it tastes just like poverty
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Been many years since I worked a shop, but then we used a pressurized back bleeder.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Wasn't a pop bottle but I have used that method in the past and it worked just fine.

IC B2

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I got Corky The Retard lives across the holler, he helps me bleed brakes and other brain-dead tasks.

He'll rake my whole front yard for a popsicle.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
A cinder block leaned on the brake peddle also works, but it's pretty slow. I might try this at the next brake project.

An unemployed Jester, is nobody's Fool.

the only real difference between a good tracker and a bad tracker, is observation. all the same data is present for both. The rest, is understanding what you're seeing.

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger