Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Got a fall bear hunt in south central Alaska and Im wanting to shoot some birds after I (hopefully) get my sons their first bears.

If anyone can guide me on bird gun choice and any good reference material for how to find them. Ive heard an.22 is good, but Im more use to shotguns for birds. But Im a total newbie to hunting these birds.

Thanks in advance.

�Some people hear their own inner voice with great clearness. And they live by what they hear. Such people become crazy�or they become legend."--Jim Harrison

www.doing-manly-things.com
BP-B2

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Either one would work fine. Ptarmigan might be hard to find depending on the timeframe, I have mostly hunted them in the winter. I mostly spot and stalk grouse. If they fly off they usually don't go too far and you can track them down.

T
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
T
I always used a 22 or my 32 revolver given the choice. I shot hundreds of grouse and ptarmigan and only once got into ptarmigan where I thought they were skittish enough to warrant wing shooting.

The first time I ever shot any grouse when I first moved up I of course took a shotgun since we were bird hunting. I shot 6 grouse out of the same tree after throwing sticks in an effort to make them fly. As I shot them off the limbs none ever even flew to escape!

I once headshot either 7 or 8 ptarmigan off the same tussock about as fast as I could work the bolt on my 77/22. I guess they were walking by and hopping up on the hump in a single file line. Had them all in a stack like a shooting gallery!

Whatever you choose have fun and enjoy them as they’re fine eating.

W
WDH Offline
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
W
Hold on Sitka Deer is reading an article on this and will then reply.

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Pistoles are a given.

Scatterguns a lark.

Hint...……………...