Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
L
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
L
Just killed a jake at 47 yards with a single shot of Winchester XX Turkey 3" #5 copper clad. 12ga, Carlson extended choke (I believe.665). Not fancy. Stone dead.

I've killed lots with plain old lead.
Once I run out of the dedicated turkey loads I have I may buy some TSS to try out.. Or not. It's not really all that hard to kill them, but trying new stuff is fun.

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by JamesJr
Originally Posted by mtnsnake
I would use what patterns the best.

That's the secret, and always has been. I've been experimenting with turkey guns and chokes for over 25 years, looking for that "perfect" combination. I've got a bunch of half boxes of all different brands of shells I've tried. Don't be fooled into thinking that you have to use expensive shells or some magic formula shot, because you don't. Plain old lead will do just as good a job.....providing you do yours. It's no different than deer hunting, as people have been killing deer for years with the old tried and true cartridges every bit as good as they have with the new ones.

As I said, I've experimented quite a bit with different shells.......Federal, Remington, Winchester, and Heavyweight. Long ago, I settled on Winchester Supreme's, and lately have started using the Longbeard's. I just killed a bird this past week with a 20 gauge Longbeard #5 at 48 yards, a much longer shot than I like to take with any shotgun. But, I'd patterned it and knew what it would do. Again, that's the key......pattern your gun with different shells, and different chokes. Also, don't be ashamed to shoot plain old lead, because I'll tell you a little secret.......it will kill them just as dead as shot costing 5 times more.