Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
F
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
F
I have just this winter made the conversion to copper, TSX and Gmax. I have no expansion experience to share yet, but in conflict with others experience here, no problems with accuracy or pressure indications and no undue copper buildup in the bore. Thus far, .257 Rbts 100 gr., 6.5x55 130 gr., 7x57 140 gr., .30-06 150 gr., 8x57 and 8mm-06 180 gr. The 6.5x55 actually shrunk groups from 1.5 moa to about 1.1 moa (old bullet was 129 SST) The 7x57 was the only caliber to increase group size, going from 1.1 moa to 1.4. I use 5 shot groups. Mostly kept powder charges the same as the original cup and core loads. Did not tweak seating depths. One more word on copper fouling...the first couple shots seems to deposit a pretty good copper wash in the bore, but...it never seems to get any thicker. Heavy coppering can often be detected with the chronograph with 10 shots or more in a string. The velocity will incrementally increase. I do not shoot at game much over 300 yards, so personally I'm not terribly concerned with expansion at extended ranges.

Well this is a fine pickle we're in, should'a listened to Joe McCarthy and George Orwell I guess.
GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by szihn
A few things to point out:
It's false that an unexpanded rifle bullet will always make a bore sized exit. Bullets nearly always turn backwards or sideways after they impact even in about half the cases when they do expand first.

So a 338 leaving an exit of about dime size doesn't show it's expanding. It may have a bit but without recovering the bullets you really can't know for sure.