Print Thread
Hop To
J
JeffG Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
J
So, I have some pretty pieces of wood left over from whittling gunstocks, gnarly antlers and whatnot, and thought they would make nice knife scales... I'm a carpenter not a metal worker, so it's a steep learning curve to jump to knife building, but I thought I'd try, and would like to purchase some pre-made full-tang blade blanks, then apply my own scales.

For instance, I looked at Jantz and Smokey Mountain websites with small damascus skinners for $30-$40, (pretty, but are they real damascus, or that acid etched s(h)tuff?). Lots of info on Jantz site, but I was out of my depth just reading about steel types..., so,

Any guidance for a first-timer's blade blank and pin purchases?

"...One Nation under God, indivisible, with Liberty and Justice for All"

JeffG
BP-B2

M
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
M
Jeff
I have bought supplies from Jantz for quite a while, receiving good quality and service.
I have not bought blade blanks from them, but no doubt in my mind all their blades are of good quality.
Don't dwell toooooo long on steel types. There are many and work just fine.

Jantz damascus will be the real stuff but it does take etching to make the pattern jump out.
You may want to start with D2 or 440C and see if you really want to do more assembling.

As a carpenter, assembling will not be a steep learning curve for you.

Then you are on a long slippery slope that has a high probability of you ending up with multiple grinders, etc.
I know from experience. Only bought a couple blades and then fell into the blade making sink hole.

But it has been good.
Good Luck
Tim

Last edited by michiganroadkill; 05/17/19.

"The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
Albert Einstein

At Khe Sanh a sign read "For those who fight for it, life has a flavor the protected never knew".
J
JeffG Offline OP