Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
johnw Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
I've been looking at and considering an AR as a general use carbine.

The first 2 AR15 style rifles listed on Grab-a-gun's page are the Ruger for $479 and a S&W for $499. . I couldn't get GAG's comparison tool to work, but they look about identical.

Thoughts on either or both of these as general use carbines?

"Chances Will Be Taken"

ARIC

johnw Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger

"Chances Will Be Taken"

C
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
C
I'm not an AR expert but I have put together a couple, and shot them quite a bit over the last few years. Both came from Palmetto State Armory. Both of mine were built from parts kits/stripped lowers/complete uppers. First, I'd say consider building one with a kit and stripped lower. Easy, fun, and you'll know how it all works when you're done. Plus you can save money and get exactly what you want.

I've shot both S&W and Ruger ARs and have friends that have owned a few examples. They are functional and all around decent rifles. The price you found looks good.

But I think you can do better for the same cost, or even less. If I wanted an all around good shooting rifle (not for competition or to carry into combat) and didn't want to build it, I would buy this complete upper https://palmettostatearmory.com/psa-16-5-56-nato-1-7-nit-13-5-mlok-w-nibr-bcg-mbus-ss.html
and complete lower https://palmettostatearmory.com/psa...-edition-odg-no-magazine-5165457977.html
and stick them together.

Total cost $450, free shipping, everything except mags and ammo. There are MANY more options and infinite ways to configure if you build yourself. Just an FYI that upper has a light contour "pencil" barrel, which you might want or not, but it comes with some nice components at a great price.

G
g5m Offline
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
Originally Posted by johnw