Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
I
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I
Harbor Freight Red is no longer available. Stopped in yesterday to buy a couple of bottles & was told they no longer make it in red! Yikes, that's been my favorite for a long time. I know some don't like it but I've had great luck with it & probably taken at least 20-25 head of big game with red bullets, plus accuracy has always been outstanding for me.

Dick

GB1

G
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
WTF is Harbor Freight Red anyways? Never heard of it.

Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
Per Yondering's Instructions:

The powder below is RAL 6018 Yellow Green from Powder Buy The Pound

I've been using Powder Buy The Pound products for 5 years. Yondering's green is the schizz.

Genesis 9:2-4 Ministries Lighthearted Confessions of a Cervid Serial Killer
T
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
T
Been to 2 HF looking for red, they are out. Only black and silver.

Powder by the Pound looks to be my next venture.

Maybe even a better choice, if my homemade work out. I would prefer err to use different colors for different calibers and loadings.

Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
Yondering's Green from Powder by the Pound is a good start for anyone wanting to do the shake-n-bake method he describes. However, it's not the only powder that works.

I'm happy with the results and stopped right there without further experimenting. I have a friend who has taken it a step or two beyond. He's got a PhD in chemistry, so he's got the chops to seriously dig in on this stuff. He tells me there is a reason why the green works and some other colors don't work. It has to do with the chemicals that are used for the dye and their ability to aid or deter bonding to the alloy. The green that Yondering suggests has Titanium in it, and that bonds well with a wide range of lead alloys.