-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I've been a Glock guy since I was a young patrol officer in 1987. We had to carry .38 special revolvers, but in the winter under a coat, I carried my Gen 1 Glock 17 as a backup in a shoulder holster. Always shot perfect scores with that pistol. I sold the Gen 1 in 1990 when we went to the S&W 4506 .45acp. Actually, the powers that be stopped us from carrying anything but S&W autos. When they relaxed the regs again, I went back to Glock. I now own a G43 and G19 in 9mm, a G27 and G22 in .40 S&W, a G20SF in 10mm, and a G30SF in .45acp. I've been retired from Law Enforcement for about a year. My two favorite EDC guns are the Glock 43, and an S&W 642 .38 special. When I was a plain clothes UC guy for the last 7 years of my career, I carried my Glock 27 with a Glock 23 mag in my pocket. Both loaded with Federal 180 grain HST. My church carry pistol is my Gen 5 Glock 19 loaded with 124 grain Underwood Gold Dots at 1300 fps. I'm around a bunch of Glock hating Springfield XD guys all the time. They bad mouth Glocks all the time. None of them can outshoot me!

Ron

People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.
Orwell
GB1

V
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
V
Over priced? Like 1911’s or HK’s. Yeah they have crept up, but blue label Glocks are still a great deal.

Before Glock came around, what did we have to choose from? Mediocre (expensive) 1911’s, pot metal Smiths, llamas.

Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
I didn't like Glocks at first and refused the issue of one until 2009, when I accepted a firearms training position with an agency that issued them. Figured if I was gonna be teaching Glocks, I had better know Glocks. They're an excellent duty pistol, not particularly well adapted to the human hand.

They are not perfection. They are simply a rung on the ladder of firearms design.