Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
lawnman Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
L
Looking to tie some flys. Started flyfishing last year so apparently this is the next step lol. Local shops carry HMH and bass pro has the peak rotary version. Haven't seen the hmh in person so not sure what model they have. Both seem solid. Any advice on these or others? Wanna spend $200 ish or less. Thx

A man's got to know his limitations!
GB1

R
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
R
Peak rotary for what you want spend.

CO School of Trades, Gunsmithing, '76
Clemson University '74
Go Tigers
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I've been using a pair of Regal vises for over twenty years. One a table top model (for traveling) and the other a clamp on. They do everything I want to do as far as fly tying. Good luck and have fun with your fly tying it becomes a sport onto itself.

Ed

A person who asks a question is a fool for 5 minutes the person who never asks is a fool forever.

The worst slaves are those that put the chains on themselves.
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I have owned many, many different vises over the years and have settled on the Nor-Vise and have been on their prostaff for quite a few years (my son, also) and use a lot of the features they bring to the table...

If I was not using it the Regal would be my first choice. They hold a wider range of hooks better than any other brand I have used. I have owned a few ridiculously expensive vices, too.

Mark Begich, Joaquin Jackson, and Heller resistance... Three huge reasons to worry about the NRA.
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
HMH Spartan is a great $200 vise. Made here in Maine. I've tied 10x long 2/0 streamers down to 26s with mine and no troubles.

-Matt

"The proof of the whisky is in the drinking, the proof of the rifle is in the shooting."
IC B2

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker