Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
S
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
S
I have a 30-06 and a .264 Win Mag. I've thought about buying a new rifle to elk hunt with, and that would be fun, but it's probably money better spent on other hunting stuff. My dad left me his Weatherby 30-06 Vanguard. It's the high gloss stock and highly polished blued version. The stock is beautiful, but very shiny and heavy. The rifle shoots well. If I was going to use it I would probably replace the scope and buy a McMillan Edge for it to reduce the weight. On the other hand, I have a Remington Classic . 264 that I have been hunting deer with since 1986. It's a tried and true killer and like an old friend to me. It's pretty heavy as it's wearing a VX6. I could hunt with it as, is or buy a lighter scope or buy a lighter scope and a McMillan for it and have a much lighter rifle. Anyway, if you had to choose to hunt elk with either a 30-06 or .264 Win Mag, both good shooting rifles, which would you choose?

GB1

P
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
take the 264 Win. Mag for your main rifle and take the 30-06 for a back up rifle

LIFE NRA , we vote Red up here, Norseman
T
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
T
Depends on where I was hunting ... cover, distance ... etc. For fairly open country I'd use the .264. In timber I'd use the '06. Sounds like you need to prep 'em both and take 'em both.

Tom

Anyone who thinks there's two sides to everything hasn't met a M�bius strip.

Here be dragons ...
S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S
30-06 without a doubt. More selection of whatever bullet you want to hunt with. It will do what ever needs to be done .If the shiny bothers you get some camo tape and cover it.

If God wanted you to walk and carry things on your back, He would not have invented stirrups and pack saddles
J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J