Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
TCR Aristocrat issue #14117551 09/11/19
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 318
eblake Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 318
I was hoping to sight in my new to me TCR Aristocrat .308 yesterday. I dropped a hand loaded round (full length sized Hornady brass, RCBS dies) into the chamber and tried -- too enthusiastically -- to close the rifle. This resulted in a very stuck round in the chamber and a spoiled range session. Only after a great deal of effort after I returned home could I finally get the still unfired round out of the chamber. A factory Winchester round loads and extracts with no issues.

Do the TCR rifles typically have very tight chambers? These hand loads chamber and extract without issues in my Browning Xbolt and Winchester model 70. I'll shoot factory ammo if I have to but would like to be able to shoot hand loads without a repeat of yesterday's experience.

300 BP

Re: TCR Aristocrat issue [Re: eblake] #14117635 09/11/19
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 9,373
OSU_Sig Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 9,373
Do you have a modified case that will allow you to measure the length of the chamber with the bullet you're wanting to use?


Shoot low Sheriff, they're riding shetlands.

Impeachment is all the democrats have-but don't underestimate their resolve.

Re: TCR Aristocrat issue [Re: eblake] #14117669 09/11/19
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 318
eblake Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 318
My efforts to remove the cartridge from the chamber forced the bullet most of the way into the case but the cartridge remained stuck. I'm assuming that the stuck cartridge is an issue with the brass and is not related to the specific bullet being used. I'm not familiar with methods to measure the chamber without doing a chamber casting.

Re: TCR Aristocrat issue [Re: eblake] #14118044 09/11/19
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 653
SDWhirlwind Offline
Campfire Regular
Offline
Campfire Regular
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 653
Take a piece of brass same as that used previously. Insert it into the chamber to see if it chambers so you can easily close the rifle. If it doesn't then your brass needs further sizing and/or possibly trimmed? If it chambers ok then seat the bullet you used in previous round and load another to that length. Will that round seat easily, if not then you have too long overall length? Haven't had any issues with tight chamber on my Hornet or 223. In fact brass from a friends Ruger 77H will chamber easily so the Ruger has a tighter chamber than the TCR barrel which I was surprised.

Re: TCR Aristocrat issue [Re: eblake] #14119012 09/11/19
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 5,604
LeonHitchcox Offline
Campfire Tracker
Offline
Campfire Tracker
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 5,604
Sounds like the case was not sized enough. Single shots like this do not have strong extraction, so definitely full length size all cases. I ran into this with a Ruger #1V in .22-250. My cases came out easily when tapped with a cleaning rod passed through the muzzle.

Alpha


Moderated by  RickBin, SYSOP 

RR1
Who's Online Now
737 registered members (14Homer, 160user, 007FJ, 06hunter59, 163bc, 63 invisible), 3,038 guests, and 517 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
RR2/3










Fish & Game Departments | Solunar Tables | Mission Statement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | DMCA
Hunting | Fishing | Camping | Backpacking | Reloading | Campfire Forums | Gear Shop
Copyright © 2000-2020 24hourcampfire.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3
(Release build 20190728)
PHP: 7.3.13 Page Time: 0.078s Queries: 14 (0.005s) Memory: 0.7865 MB (Peak: 0.8551 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2020-01-22 20:50:36 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS