Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
A
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
A
Hey guys, I’m new to muzzleloaders and I just agreed to buy the one for sale on here.

Anyone have any decent pet loads they could share for this one in particular (powder manufacturer, powder charge, bullet manufacturers/weights)?

Also, any other needed ML’ing gear and tips?

Thank you

Last edited by addicted; 09/30/19.

Drink and be merry for soldiers die for your freedoms.

Semper Fidelis!
GB1

T
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
T
Which cal?
They made 3

T
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
T
If it’s a .50 my recipe is 120 grains of Blackhorn 209
With a 250 grain Barnes MZ traveling along at 2100 +\-
Topped with a leupold vx3 cds I consistently bang steel at 300
Get yourself a 209 upgrade
I went with the arrowhead breechplug/firing pin
Trust me cleaning now (esp with the bh209) is waaay easier

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A ton of information to share.

Just acquired the 50 cal Remington Ultimate Muzzleloader. Considering the Arrowhead upgrade and eventually a bore rider style bullet used in conjunction with a vege wad and BH 209. Neighbor did exactly that to his RUM two years ago and is getting excellent performance.

For now I am happy with the results using the recommended 250 gr Accutip ( Barnes bullet with a green sabot ) I tried recommended four 50 gr Triple seven pellets. Had some 60 gr Triple 7 mag pellets too. In this way mixed the two to get 10 gr increments below the recommended max. Found a great load using three 60 gr Triple Seven pellets for velocity of 2326 fps.

From my documents file:

The 250 rem accubond G1 BC is .210 (same as Barnes spitfire TMZ) talked to Barnes rep 7/30/19