Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
Never been around the powermax, gonna check them out!

I have had a lot of experience with the 160 FTX however. The 308 marlin express cannulure fit perfectly for the 300 savage.

Been regularly flopping cow elk outta hay fields at about 300 plus yards for years! 160 FTX 300 savage lever lotion powder.

I would like to chronograph the factory 30/30 powermax line with the lever ever lotion lineup sometime!

Last edited by Angus1895; 04/04/19.

"Shoot low sheriff, I think he's riding a shetland!" B. Wills

BP-B2

J
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
J
Let's face it the 30-30 is not a hot rod. Hand loading is the way to go. I suspect you are hunting Black Bear mostly so as long as you do not plan on stopping a head on charge they go down fairly easy with some very underwhelming cartridges. I would not try to re-invent the wheel here since a heavy jacket with soft lead core with bonded core or partition get's the job down rather easily. I use a 45-70 but as a kid the 30-30 was super popular and pawn shops and used gun stores are always full of used lever actions in 30-30. In fact I have consideed getting another 30-30 Lever Action just for nostalgia's sake! It does not matter if it is a 30-30 or a 30-06 if I need penetration I like heavy solidly constructed round nose flat base bullets.

O
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
O
I am currently reloading Nosler Partition 170-grainers for my 30-30.
I love the partition's mix of great expansion and lots of penetration.

I really think it's a great choice, as long as the particular 30-30 groups them well.

That having been said, I also strongly agree that just about all the current market offerings for 30-30 are extremely adequate for deer and black bear, and wouldn't disappoint.

We're living in "good bullet times", where you almost can't go wrong.