24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Labradar question - use with multiple rifles #14266250 11/08/19
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 596
P
peaceman Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
P
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 596
I am considering purchasing a Labradar unit since they are on sale right now. I am curious how much of a hassle it is to fire a series with one rifle, then fire another series with a different rifle. Do you need to go through all the menus each time you change rifles for bullet weight?
If so, that seems like a pain if you are spending a lot of time switching rifles while the other one cools down.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks,

BP-B2

Re: Labradar question - use with multiple rifles [Re: peaceman] #14266515 11/09/19
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 720
S
shinbone Online Content
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
S
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 720
Bullet weight is only used by the unit to calculate a “power factor.” Meaning, if you only care about velocities, the unit doesn't need to know bullet weight.

Somewhat related, if you change from rifle to pistol, then you would need to change the unit’s “velocity range” setting. But this is not necessary when changing from one rifle to another rifle.



Re: Labradar question - use with multiple rifles [Re: peaceman] #14266642 11/09/19
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,282
L
lotech Offline
Campfire Regular
Offline
Campfire Regular
L
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,282
I don't adjust the grain weight setting for either rifle or handgun loads. I may chronograph multiple and different loads during a range session. Figures correspond with those recorded by my Oehler 35P.

Re: Labradar question - use with multiple rifles [Re: lotech] #14266912 11/09/19
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,683
nyrifleman Online Content
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,683
Originally Posted by lotech
I don't adjust the grain weight setting for either rifle or handgun loads. I may chronograph multiple and different loads during a range session. Figures correspond with those recorded by my Oehler 35P.



Same here.


Popularis Factio delenda est
Doug
Re: Labradar question - use with multiple rifles [Re: lotech] #14266941 11/09/19
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 10,831
Daveh Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 10,831
Originally Posted by lotech
I don't adjust the grain weight setting for either rifle or handgun loads. I may chronograph multiple and different loads during a range session. Figures correspond with those recorded by my Oehler 35P.



Copy!
I was so thrilled with initial ease of use I never went back and read the manual as I want to just start new strings with each rifle.
All the talk about how sensitive they are to aiming was bull.....


But as for me and my house we will serve the Lord. Joshua 24:15
I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Phil. 4:13

I DON'T NEED A WSM AS I HAVE A WEATHERBY!
IC-A

Re: Labradar question - use with multiple rifles [Re: peaceman] #14267166 11/09/19
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 14,046
mudhen Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 14,046
Just curious---can you use them with a suppressor mounted? Thanks!


Ben

Some days it takes most of the day for me to do practically nothing...
Re: Labradar question - use with multiple rifles [Re: mudhen] #14267231 11/09/19
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 798
3
32_20fan Offline
Campfire Regular
Offline
Campfire Regular
3
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 798
Originally Posted by mudhen
Just curious---can you use them with a suppressor mounted? Thanks!


No problems with picking up shots when using a SiCo Harvester and Omega on a 243 Win up to a 308 Win. There is an optimum position with respect to the muzzle. One can also use an external microphone (their airgun/bow mic) or an accelerometer/recoil sensor as the trigger transducer (default is the internal mic).

The doppler can also be turned on continuously that doesn't need a trigger and is just actively waiting for an object to track.

Re: Labradar question - use with multiple rifles [Re: peaceman] #14268461 11/09/19
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,400
S
smithrjd Online Content
Campfire Guide
Online Content
Campfire Guide
S
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,400
After my Pro Chrony craped out I bought a Labradar unit. Not going back. The ease of setup and control is so much better.

Re: Labradar question - use with multiple rifles [Re: peaceman] #14268848 11/10/19
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,119
Rustyzipper Online Content
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,119
32-20 fan has it. Easier to use and a better quality of equipment. And yes, you will need to find the sweet spot for it to pick up the shots. That is quite simple to do with only a few shots. We have used it with the external accessory microphone for airguns. We use it for them more than anything else. To hit a pest species of bird on a powerline 100 + yards away you have to get the data that comes from the Labradar with the laser rangefinder. Easier to do than to explain. Lots of fun shooting behind a PCP for that data. Be Well, Rusty.

Re: Labradar question - use with multiple rifles [Re: peaceman] #14271307 11/11/19
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 23,146
A
alpinecrick Offline
Campfire Kahuna
Offline
Campfire Kahuna
A
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 23,146

You can also switch back and forth between rifles and keep track of each shot string for each rifle. For example I've shot 3 rounds with one rifle and let the bbl cool, then switch the Labradar to a Series 2 string and shoot 3 rounds with a second rifle, then switch back to Series 1 for the first rifle.

Because I'm a fuddy-duddy I usually just write the velocity down in my load data book. I'd have to read the manual again to remember what buttons to push..........


Casey

Not being married to any particular political party sure makes it a lot easier to look at the world more objectively...
Having said that, MAGA.
IC-B

Re: Labradar question - use with multiple rifles [Re: peaceman] #14271344 11/11/19
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 720
S
shinbone Online Content
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
S
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 720
Shot some .300WSM and .223Rem handloads yesterday using the Labradar to measure the velocity of each load. It was easy switching back and forth between each rifle, with no need to touch the Labradar. I just made sure the muzzle of each gun was positioned 6" away and about 1" behind the Labradar for reliable triggering, which was done by moving the front and rear rests.

[Linked Image from photos.smugmug.com]


Moderated by  RickBin, SYSOP 

RR1
Who's Online Now
784 registered members (1911a1, 10gaugemag, 06hunter59, 01Foreman400, 1Akshooter, 80 invisible), 2,745 guests, and 952 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
RR2/3










Fish & Game Departments | Solunar Tables | Mission Statement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | DMCA
Hunting | Fishing | Camping | Backpacking | Reloading | Campfire Forums | Gear Shop
Copyright © 2000-2020 24hourcampfire.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3
(Release build 20190728)
PHP: 7.3.18 Page Time: 0.055s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.8165 MB (Peak: 0.9185 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2020-05-27 01:43:35 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS