Print Thread
Hop To
H
HCDH66 Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
H
I am considering getting into handloading. I have zero experience with it and have always shot factory ammo. I also have no equipment.

What advice would you give me as to how to get started equipment-wise and what pitfalls do I need to avoid?

If ifs and buts were like candy and nuts, it would be Christmas every day.

“The .30-06 is never a mistake.” - Col. Townsend Whelan
GB1

M
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
M
Finding an experienced mentor can be a great help.

Get a couple of manuals with good how-to sections. The Lyman manual for example.

Keep your eyes open for a sale on one of the better starting kits.

Start with easy going cartridges. A 6.5-300 Weatherby isn't one for learning the ropes.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by mathman
Finding an experienced mentor can be a great help.

Get a couple of manuals with good how-to sections. The Lyman manual for example.

Keep your eyes open for a sale on one of the better starting kits.

Start with easy going cartridges. A 6.5-300 Weatherby isn't one for learning the ropes.

Good advice. Once you read the manuals a bit you might look at local classified or Craigslist. Sometimes you can find some bargains especially in estate sales.

I am continually astounded at how quickly people make up their minds on little evidence or none at all.
Jack O'Connor
G
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
G